Christmas Wish List, Jing An and French Concession

It’s almost here! Christmas!! So since I’ll be in Shanghai this year to pass the holidays, I didn’t really come up with a wish list… But come to think of it, I do have some Christmas Wishes that I hope will be granted in the New Year:

Christmas Wish 1: To find the perfect set of puffy pajamas to lounge around in outside (a Chinese form of conspicuous consumption, strangely enough). I don’t know what it is about Chinese people and wearing pajamas on bikes, but I’ve seen it a lot more that I could have ever anticipated…

Christmas Wish 2: To find and purchase a bike as sweet as this one… Then, I can ride my sweet bike in my sweet pajama set (I also need to find cool slippers like hers).

(and for my last and less tangible wish…) Christmas Wish 3: For people in Shanghai to stop wearing outfits like the one below. Not only is it a giant (fake) Burberry coat, but it’s paired with some ridiculous Coach boots.

I’m not fooled… I don’t think this lady is rich, and I don’t think that her outfit makes her look rich or classy (do you?). Please, Christmas Magic, make it stop!!

About chinesepeopledoyoustyle

The emergence of style in China
This entry was posted in Burberry, Chinese People, Conspicuous Consumption, Counterfeits, Jing An District, Pajamas, Thesis, Xu Hui District and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

