The Future of Chinese Fashion, China

After spotting this little guy on Christmas morning munching out on a baozi (Chinese for dumpling), I suddenly realized that HE is the future of Chinese fashion!

Well, not him specifically, but rather ALL Chinese children are the future of fashion in China (apologies for stating the obvious)… But it’s a really important topic, as they are the next generation of consumers, and I hope they will restore the glory of the oldest generation instead of becoming mindless consumers of simply conspicuous products.

So that, everyone, is my holiday gift to you that I mentioned before: A look at the future of sartorial aesthetics in China (in short, will it be a more individual or mass aesthetic??)

Also, I don’t know if you noticed this little man’s pants, but they are kinda amazing, like this girl’s leather leggings:

I like this girl because she seems much more mature in terms of her vestimentary choices than those of most others in her generation (people around 25-50 years old)… She doesn’t feel the need for any conspicuous logos, and is rendered more as an individual than a billboard for big brands.

But unfortunately, most younger kids don’t get to dress themselves (like the boy above), and the parents have this weird compulsion to dress them up in “designer” outfits. The above, obviously, is not really from Burberry…

Unfortunately though, I’m sure there is some affinity from the children for these “designer” clothes starting at a young age, since they see these patterns from the very beginning of their life…

This poor little guy had no choice, his parents obviously really want to pretend to be wealthy by dressing their child up in ridiculous stuff… such as this (fake) Gucci coat over that (fake) Burberry sweater.

But no, seriously, the Burberry pattern is omnipresent in childrenswear in China (look closely at the above picture)… It’s kind of sad, and I hope that people will finally realize how tacky it really is (but the girl above is still adorable!)

I wish kids were dressing more like the two kids above… They aren’t splashed with logos, and carrying the responsibility of making the parents look like they are wealthy.

I think children should be free in their clothing, with fun and flighty and fanciful thoughts more apparent in their clothing than a brand name.

This little girl was perfectly dressed for the flower market. She looked adventurous and free, like she was ready to discover something great.

Of course one or two recognizable logos (like the Hello Kitty) are incorporated into almost every kid’s wardrobe today, since we really are a consumer culture… But we should think about how culture is transferred and adapted, and whether one culture tries to claim superiority (which is totally the case with Western vs. Chinese brands).

Because at the end of the day, we really are all products of what we consume…

So we should be careful in what we preserve and what we dispose of…

I hope that young Chinese people will value a diversified sartorial aesthetic and have more individualized consumption habits, as well as take pride in the specific traditions of their own clothing system…

I’m actually off to Chongqing and Yunnan tomorrow, so I will be posting from my phone (meaning shorter posts)… But I can’t wait to see the minorities of China, and the specific sartorial traditions of the Wild West! I hope they preserve their ethnicity through their clothing, and I’ll soon find out and let you all know!

Merry Christmas, I hope you enjoyed my gift!

About chinesepeopledoyoustyle

The emergence of style in China
This entry was posted in Burberry, Children, Chinese People, Conspicuous Consumption, Cultural Imperialists, Future of Chinese Fashion, Thesis and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Future of Chinese Fashion, China

  1. Pingback: Gen Z: The Future of Chinese Fashion Part III, China |

  2. Pingback: Gen Z: The Future of Chinese Fashion Part III, China | chinesepeoplehavenostyle

  3. Pingback: Top 10 of 2010 Installation 5: The Future, aka Chinese Kids | chinesepeoplehavenostyle

  4. Turner Jay says:

    I love browsing your website for the reason that you can always get us fresh and awesome things, I feel that I must at least say a thank you for your hard work.

    – Henry

    • amandine says:

      Hello,
      I am currently writing my final year dissertation about china and the luxury market; so I don’t know if your readers are chinese or not (I believe they are) but, could you possibly help me trying to reach them by forwarding my survey ?
      Kind Regards,
      Amandine Poirier

      你好,麻煩你填妥這份關於Louis Vuitton社會責任的問卷。Can you please answer my survey about Louis Vuitton’s CSR ?
      http://edu.surveygizmo.com/s3/860730/Louis-Vuitton-s-CSR-Louis-Vuitton

Leave a Reply

