Androgyny Part 二 + Happy Friday!, Xin Tian Di

Wow this week went by fast… But that’s fine by me because it’s already Friday! So to wish everyone a happy Friday, here is the most cheerfully dressed old man I’ve ever seen in China:

It’s a pretty gay outfit in the happy sort of way, but probably not the other way. But this is some serious gender-bending regardless… he’s carrying that murse with conviction like it is undoubtedly HIS, not one he borrowed like most other guys do these days.

But it’s great that this guy has found his own way of dressing, and that’s he comfortable crossing traditional gender boundaries (China actually has great gender equality and thus more fluid conceptualizations of gender)… And the colors just work, as he definitely brightened up my day and the streets of Shanghai.

I’m personally a huge fan of androgyny (but not really cross-dressing) if it’s done right, and this guy was definitely doing it right… it’s kind of clashy too!

Note: The Best Dressed Generation results are a bit skewed at this because all post have been on Gen X since it’s inception (this is the 3rd), but I’ll balance out the number of posts in the future.

Gen X – 25 + 20 (for making cross-dressing not gross) = 45
Gen Y – 0
Gen Z – 0

About chinesepeopledoyoustyle

The emergence of style in China
This entry was posted in Androgynous, Artistic, Best Dressed Generation, Chinese People, Clash, Color, Gen X, Hats, Masculine vs. Feminine, Masculine vs. Feminine, Murse, Murse Project, Sun and Shine, Xin Tian Di and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Androgyny Part 二 + Happy Friday!, Xin Tian Di

  1. Pingback: Fashion Week Part I: May J. and Chi Zhang, Zhongshan Park |

  2. Pingback: Fashion Week Part I: May J. and Chi Zhang, Zhongshan Park | chinesepeoplehavenostyle

  3. Pingback: The Chinese Dandy, French Concession | chinesepeoplehavenostyle

  4. Pingback: The Murse Project Part 二, Shanghai | chinesepeoplehavenostyle

  5. Pingback: Gender Neutral In China : Top China Blog- Understanding China One Blog at a Time

  6. WMA says:

    Oh! But to add to that..
    I do have to agree that “generation y” does have those forementioned characteristics about the designer labels

  7. WMA says:

    Hello! I stumbled on your blog through a post on Weibo (Chinese microblog) – weibo.com
    I really like this blog,
    However, you are rather harsh about my generation (“generation Z”)
    i am from Guangzhou. I have also been studying the transformation of Chinese fashion, but after noticing that many of your posts keet saying how we just like labels and flaunting blatant consumerism I went on all the style blogs on weibo that I could find and I saw very few of this. I would just like to suggest that you look on there too!

    Thank you for reading!

    • Hi WMA

      Thank you for the thoughtful comment. I do agree with you that I give Gen Z a difficult time about their collective style but that’s because most young Chinese people are very into brands, which makes them all look the same; however, I know there are lots of very stylish and unique Gen Z-ers, I just haven’t caught many good pictures of them. I actually know some of them personally, and have included them on my blog aggregator: chinafashionbloggers.com. I promise in the future that I will post more positive pictures of your generation when I get some. Unfortunately most of these stylish people are at events where the lighting makes it tough to get good pictures or they are going out at night, so there is little light to photograph them… But you’re right, on weibo and lookbook.nu there are some very stylish young Chinese people, I just have to find them! If you have any specific people I should take a look at, please let me know!!

      Thanks for reading!! All the best
      CPHNS

  8. Pingback: Gender Bender Clothing in Shanghai-chinesepeoplehavenostyle.com « Understanding China, One Blog at a Time

  9. B says:

    Great post and captured the spirit of the man and the area quite well. Xin Ku le!

Leave a Reply

