Happy Halloween!, Shanghai

To take a bit of a break from posting about Shanghai Fashion Week, here’s a quick Halloween update from Shanghai before I go to Beijing next week for Xander Zhou‘s SS12 presentation (kinda part of Fashion Week) and some other shows/business.

So anyway, back to Halloween… Despite being a few days before the actual holiday, people were out in droves on Saturday night to celebrate. I was really surprised how decked out everyone got considering there is really no costume store, as I saw everything from Angry Birds to skeletons to the Gingerbread Man (mostly self-made costumes)! But there were two very pervasive trends this Halloween… the first was obviously cross-dressing, as we Asians already have an androgynous disposition:

There was a tiny geisha, a Shanghai aiyi with a showercap, and out from behind the geisha popped a bright pink… maid?

And yes, these were all boys, but I mean cross-dressing was totally expected…

But Smurfs? In Shanghai?! Do Chinese people know about Smurfs somehow? This was only one Smurf… (and I am pretty sure he was a Chinese Smurf, or at least looked Chinese).

But I saw a weirdly large amount of Smurfs on Halloween, like whole groups of Smurfs! I think I even saw a Smurfette, but that costume wasn’t as solid as this guy’s, cause I can’t really remember it… But this guy is supposed to be Papa Smurf, right?

Anyway, I love the commitment to this costume, but it seems his party left blue him all alone on the street, and I saw him disappear into the darkness. And that was the last thing I remember from Halloween…

Best Dressed Generation:
Gen X – 180 points
Gen Y – 100 points + 25 points for being so creative (most costumes were not bought ready-made) = 125 points
Gen Z – 30 points

*Gen Y will definitely get some major points for its contributions to Fashion Week, but I want to see what happens in Beijing before I decide how much to give them overall… And Gen Z will definitely get some attention soon… And while I’m away I’ll schedule some special posts about China’s 56 ethnic minorities. So check back!

About chinesepeopledoyoustyle

The emergence of style in China
This entry was posted in Androgynous, Artistic, Best Dressed Generation, Gen Y, Huang Pu District, Just for Fun, Resourceful, Xu Hui District and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Halloween!, Shanghai

  1. Things I knew about as a wee youngin in the early 90s in China:
    – The Smurfs
    – He-Man
    – Teenaged Mutant Ninja Turtles (important for introducing me to the concept of pizza)
    – Sailor Moon
    – Speed Racer
    – Some Disney movies (this was progressive, though; my dad brought the VHSes from Japan!)

    Bizarre but true!

Leave a Reply

