The Best Perspective is Up, Guangzhou

Even though it’s been raining in Shanghai now for about a week straight, I’m still trying to keep my head and spirits up… But I wouldn’t dare take the perspective of this little girl I pictured in Guangzhou, for fear of Shanghai’s acid rain falling into my eyes:

I always encourage friends and acquaintances to “look up” both literally and figuratively no matter the situation, and remain a positive, forward thinking person. I think physically looking up and keeping an open, child-like mind is part of maintaining a positive outlook on life and seeing the potential in everything; preferably when you take such a perspective you’re on your back in a park or something and not while you’re riding a bike like this little girl…

But don’t worry everyone, this little girl is OK to assume such a precarious position on her bike because her Dad has her bike tied to a LEASH:

I only noticed this as I was uploading the first picture, but this controversial practice shouldn’t take away from the message I’m trying to convey here… Looking physically upwards (best when completely on your back) can help people think positively, but most of us probably haven’t done it in a while…

So if the place you’re in has somewhere you can lay on your back and stare up at the sky, take some time to do it. Usually only kids assume such a perspective, but it’s always good to see things from a different perspective, right?

Best Dressed Generation:
Gen X – 180 points
Gen Y – 145 points
Gen Z – 105 points + 30 points for keeping a great perspective (up!) = 135 points

About chinesepeopledoyoustyle

The emergence of style in China
This entry was posted in Active, Best Dressed Generation, Bikes, Chinese People, Conspicuous Leisure, Gen Z, Guangzhou, Just for Fun, Kids, Rain and Snow and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Best Perspective is Up, Guangzhou

  1. Susan Tiner says:

    Hi Timothy, first of all, thank you for including my Theory post on your Theory page, what an honor. Couple questions: 1) do you define your best dress generation rubric someplace on the blog? 2) I would like to read your entire thesis, is there a link?

    Re: your second comment. I agree. I think what’s been frustrating is less an issue of being honest than clarifying my questions well enough to invite quality discourse. I’ve been struggling with defining terms. For example, having just re-read your Fashion vs Style terms, I want to know where does the idea of glamour fit in? It exists as a fantasy aspect of both Fashion and Style I think but I’m not sure. Anyway, until I have more of a “thesis” like yours nailed down, I worry that I can’t frame the questions well enough to invite an honest conversation. For example, my first stab at theory you’ve linked to did manage to provoke a comment that I completely left out the concept of aesthetics and of belonging to a social construct. It’s true that I did. I feel like I coming up with toddler level constructs anyone can shoot holes in and might be inadvertently offensive.

    Anyway I really want to read your thesis.

    • Hi Susan

      I don’t have a rubric for the Best Dressed Generation, it’s basically me arbitrarily giving out points and taking them away every time I post (that has people from one or more of the generations).

      As for my thesis, I don’t have a link to it anywhere as I’m not giving it out to anyone, but given your background and special interest, I could possible send it to you via email 🙂

      And lastly, I don’t think it’s fair to use the term “honest” because that in and of itself is hard to define… But fashion and style definitely have to be defined as terms before any of us can have an “honest” and meaningful dialogue on how these two concepts work in society. I think everyone’s theories has holes in it no matter how long they’ve been working on this issue because fashion is such a massive thing, as is style… They are also ephemeral, but I would argue that fashion is artificially ephemeral for the sake of propelling consumerism; style is here to stay because it is a personal thing that can’t (or at least shouldn’t) be judged. Anyway, I’m working on a book and will definitely send that to you once it’s complete, as it should have some better definitions of fashion/style… So if you have suggestions on how to outline, that would be great (I think the emergent functions are a really important part of understanding “fashion”).

      Thanks for reading!!

  2. Susan Tiner says:

    Hi Timothy, I found your blog about an hour ago googling for articles on fashion theory and I’ve been laughing my ass ever since off reading some of your posts. Let me first say that there is no way any of the Western English speaking fashion bloggers I know of could get away with this kind of frank commentary. I’m jealous :). Anyway, I’m so glad I found your blog because I’ve been separately trying to come up my own totally made of version of A Theory of Fashion (first attempt here on my old blog: http://www.financialorganizing.info/2011/04/10/42-a-theory-of-fashion/). I agree with the basics of your “theory” though I’m finding it’s actually way more complicated than the three basic elements you’ve outlined. I was thinking of taking another stab at it, then got frustrated, in part because I can’t write publicly about what’s going through my brain as I will almost certainly piss someone off and I don’t want to do that, have worked too hard forming friendships with fashion bloggers. Like you, I don’t mean to offend anyone, just want to make observations and try to understand what constitutes style and what doesn’t. In my case I’m starting from scratch later in life — was an engineer (engineers also have no style!) — but it can be difficult to “emerge” when you need to sort out what works and what doesn’t and you can’t talk about what you think probably doesn’t work without the risk of offending someone. I think in the US right now you can wear almost anything and still attract followers who will praise your style. The prevailing fashion rule right now seems to be that there are no rules. Maybe so. But I want to learn the rules first before breaking them. I look forward to following your story of guiding emerging style in China, and relating it to what I see in my corner of the world.

    • Dearest Susan,

      After reading your comment and the link you sent me, I felt compelled to share your work with everyone… I posted about your blog under the Theory section, I hope you don’t mind. I think you’re definitely on to something there, and your definition really helped me think through a lot of important issues in defining the difference between fashion and style. And in order to have proper discourse on the subject, the terms must first be defined, so thank you so much for your contribution to my endeavor… I hope you will find my further thoughts on these two concepts more helpful than my previous post with only very basic elements. That is what I boiled everything down to in my thesis, which you can take a look at as well… I would appreciate any feedback you have.

      And I’m so happy you like the frankness of my blog… I want it to be an objective look at fashion and style in China (which is all but impossible), and I take pictures of whatever I see and try my best to fit it into the context of Chinese fashion/style at large. I don’t think I’m there yet, but I really appreciate your encouragement, and I’m glad you find it humorous and not offensive (I’ve definitely offended some people with the name of the blog, but that’s because they only read the name and not the content), as that is how I want people to perceive it.

      I sincerely appreciate you following CPHNS, and appreciate even more your contributions you’ve already made. I hope this is only the beginning of our exchange, and I hope we can help each other figure this whole thing out… One thing you said though is definitely true, save for changing one word: The prevailing style rule is that there are no rules. Style is subjective, and depends on one’s personal history/culture/heritage/memories/experiences etc., and should not and cannot be judged by anyone else. No one can look down on you for your personal style, so keep creating and keep looking up!!

      All the best
      CPHNS

    • Also, one piece of advice… You should always try and be as honest as you can on your blog, otherwise people will develop a distrust (as many have with conventional media)… I’m not saying that you’re dishonest on your blog at all, but I’m just trying to encourage you to be as honest as possible and speak your mind freely!! You may piss off some people, but you’ll probably find new people that agree with you but didn’t have the conviction or means to say it and make it heard. It’s important to have honest, open discourse even though some people may be offended by it, because ultimately it contributes to knowledge, and that is a positive thing.

      If the things you’re holding back from saying are negative things, then I would say that your hesitation is correct… You don’t want to be negative, but if you’re being honest and it is a truth that needs to be pointed out and can be done in a positive way, I would encourage it.

      To be honest, you’ve intrigued me with your thoughts that you don’t think you can say…

Leave a Reply

