China’s Big Problem, Huang Pu District

In order to assess the validity of this statement that there are losers everywhere, I’ve decided to continue providing some more samples to be considered… So what do you think of this guy?

From the back he looks like a pretty normal Chinese person (actually dressed not too shabbily), and you may have noticed that he’s carrying a cigarette (also very normal for Chinese people)…

But by now you may have noticed that this guy is actually just a kid… I’m guessing around 12 years old, although the smoking may have made him age a bit. So what is he doing with a cigarette again?

If he’s trying to prove he is not a loser, he failed… I say this kid is a major loser for picking up one of China’s worst habits at such a young age. He’s got decades to smoke cigarettes… And he also has to option to not do it at all.

However, most Chinese men pick up smoking for a number of reasons (nothing to do, working long hours, peer pressure, etc.), and from a pretty young age. I was disgusted and outraged to see actual Chinese children (like 3-5 year olds) smoking cigarettes in the videos below, as there is no reason for them to ever even inhale second-hand smoke; and what’s worse is that the people filming seem to be encouraging it (they definitely aren’t discouraging it).

So China, you’re all losers whenever society makes young Chinese men (and women and kids especially!) feel compelled or pressured to start smoking. So you helped to prove today that there are losers everywhere, but you FAILED at the game of life.

Note: The videos below contain disturbing and upsetting footage.

Tudou

YouTube

About chinesepeopledoyoustyle

The emergence of style in China
This entry was posted in Children, Chinese People, Gen Z, Huang Pu District, Kids, Loser or Not?, Video and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to China’s Big Problem, Huang Pu District

  1. Susan Tiner says:

    I wonder if smoking is another influence from the West? I smoked as a youngster myself growing up on Long Island, New York. Most of my friends smoked too as did most of their parents. My parents also smoked. In those days, late 1960s and 1970s, there was a lot of smoking portrayed in US movies and cigarettes were still advertised on television. The Marlborough Man was kind of a romantic figure. Individual “cool” was the message I think.

    • I think it happens because pretty much everyone does it because cigarettes are still about $.75 per Chinese pack, and $1.50 for a “normal” imported pack. The most expensive cigarettes are around $7.00, which is not that expensive considering the cost of cigarettes in the US nowadays… If China just taxed the industry, it would discourage a lot of people from smoking. I don’t think they even need to advertise it here because it’s so prevalent, but I know in previous decades they would have illustrations of elegant Chinese women which would advertise everything from cigarettes to bars of soap… But haven’t seen too much cigarette ads lately…… But it may definitely be influenced by Western movies, although I believe Hollywood isn’t endorsing it and making it look “cool” like they used to.

      • Susan Tiner says:

        It’s definitely rare to see smokers in US movies now. However, have you watched any of of the TV series Mad Men? Serious smoking and drinking going on.

        I didn’t start smoking as a teenager because cigarettes were cheap. I did it because I wanted to be cool like my friends. I didn’t realize until years later that most of these folks weren’t headed for success. I moved to a different town for high school — a completely different demographic. Success was THE GOAL. Far fewer kids smoked in that high school.

  2. Biyi says:

    I don’t think that not-very-shabbily-dressed-man is 12 though..I’ll say he is 18, MIN.

    sources: 18 years living in China..

    • Hi Biyi,

      What source are you citing? Are you yourself an 18 year old Chinese person? Even if you are, I don’t think it’s sufficient evidence to prove that this kid is of smoking age. He is maximum 16 years old, minimum 10-12 years old, and most likely 13-14 years old. I know Asian people look younger and all that jazz, but this is definitely a kid, not a man.

      • Biyi says:

        Yeah I am a turning 20 Chinese person. It’s the feeling I see from his face from the third picture..Usually someone under 18 or so wouldn’t have that.

      • Yes, there is something old-looking about his face, but there was also something about his general demeanor and the way he held himself while he walked down the street with cigarette in hand that made me feel like he’s a teenager for sure… But I could be wrong, and I always appreciate getting other peoples’ perspectives.

        Anyone else have an opinion??

  3. Jean says:

    Unfortunately this is nothing compared to the collective smoke you have to breathe when the farmers slash and burn…..even though I am not in China, I am close…..and I don’t think it’s much different…. the Thai’s blame it on the Burmese who blame it on the Chinese and your neighbor will tell you it’s definitely coming from China as they stand next to a big pile of burning whatever. The sophisticated, educated person….will say, with a straight face…..as you point out that you are all killing yourselves with smoke no matter where it’s coming from…. “oh they have been doing this for thousands of years.” As if that excuses the whole LOSER smoke thing. Maybe the fashion angle is…. what is the appropriate attire to wear to the Asian funeral of all these people who surely die from smoke. All kinds of smoke. The Four Seasons here are not a luxe hotel…they are cold season, hot season, rainy season and the miserable BURNING season.

    • The burning season sounds rough! At least I’m in Shanghai and don’t have to deal with farmers burning loads of “stuff”… but Chinese people do have little bonfires on the sidewalks and such, and I found it’s usually people are burning money and clothes of the deceased… But I’ve definitely never experienced burning en masse before, and I can’t imagine that it’s the least bit pleasant.

Leave a Reply

