Shanghai Sunbrella Hats, the Bund

Sunbrellas are common on the Mainland, but I was ecstatic to find this guy wearing a sunbrella HAT!

I’ve seen sunbrella hats in Hong Kong before, but this was the first time I spotted them in Shanghai so I pulled up next to the guy and asked him if he had any for sale.

He did, and was selling them for just 10rmb, but unfortunately I had no cash on me. I asked him to hop on my scooter to go find an ATM, and he readily did so to sell some sunbrella hats to this eager foreigner.

We got to the Bund and he started looking around everywhere for an ATM…

and frantically started asking everyone where we could find an ATM:

Along the way, he made another sale to this pretty hip guy selling trinkets on the street… We were like a little sunbrella hat crew!

Oh ya, and the thing he was carrying around in his left hand were also hats (pictured below), and I ended up buying quite a few of these as well… Both hats are very functional, and I can’t wait to scoot around with my sunbrella hat!

Chinese people love hats, and these are some of my favorite kinds… The locals were also amused and we attracted quite a crowd on the Bund, only to be broken up by the Po-Po. But he made some sales, and I got a mini collection of sunbrella and paper hats! Win-Win.

About chinesepeopledoyoustyle

The emergence of style in China
This entry was posted in Bund, Chinese People, Crowd, Hats, Just for Fun, Sun and Shine and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shanghai Sunbrella Hats, the Bund

  1. Pingback: Stand by me (John Lennon) – Anfänger Lektion « Sharktube.tv Beta!

  2. Jean says:

    Hats, the better to keep your skin white…I know it sounds racist but Asian people love whitening creams and even a newspaper sun shield to keep the sun off the face…PS…a lot of these creams are from American cosmetic companies, can you imagine Saks or Neimans cosmetic dept outright saying…..WHITENING creams. And there are so many versions of Asian cultural hats…it wasn’t till I went to Vietnam that I started getting it figured out….Vietnam has those very pointed straw hats the are unique from other ares…you know it’s a Vietnamese hat when you see it…. I wonder what different areas of China have different hats to denote a geographic area, tribe or occupation??? Great that he took you right to the ATM….that’s real customer service!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

