Strawberry Music Festival, Pudong

Rambunctious Chinese youth and music enthusiasts traveled all the way to Pudong for the three-day Strawberry Music Festival this past holiday weekend. It was my first time attending such a festival in China, and I have to say I was quite impressed not only with the music but also with the street style of those attending the event.

As expected, there was a good amount of literal t-shirts, a favorite amongst Chinese people to wear and a favorite for me to photograph. True to the “rebellious” and “subversive” nature of Chinese youth culture, this guy’s shirt demanded “TAKE OFF YOUR PANTS AND JACKET”:

But he was carrying a murse for his girlfriend, which made him seem less threatening and his demands thus less serious… His girlfriend obviously wears the proverbial pants in that relationship, and I’m sure if she actually understood his shirt, she wouldn’t allow him to wear it… So I didn’t take of my pants and jacket after all.

I also had the strength to resist the demand to strip off my clothes after seeing this Chinese lady… Her shirt reads “There’s no authority but YOURSELF / Enjoy it”

I’m not quite sure what “it” is that I’m supposed to enjoy, but if “it” is the power to be my own person and be comfortable in whatever I wear and do, then I’ll definitely enjoy “it”. I think everyone needs to realize that we are all the masters of ourselves, and no one can tell you what to do, much less dictate trends that you should follow or sexual commands via t-shirt that you should follow either.

About chinesepeopledoyoustyle

The emergence of style in China
This entry was posted in Festive, Gen Y, Gen Z, Literal, Murse, Park, Pudong and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

