Freeway Turtles, Beijing

So I haven’t posted in a few days because I had an impromptu trip to Beijing… And as I was already running late to catch my flight, I didn’t schedule any posts while I was away, so I’ll try and post more regularly in the coming weeks.

So anyway, I had these two pictures queuing from my last trip to Beijing that I meant to post before my trip:

Confused? Well I was too. But you’re vision is just fine, things are just as they appear… On one of my previous trips to the Capital, I was solicited by multiple Chinese people on the freeway trying to sell cell phone chargers and turtles:

I thought the first guy was just some random, wacky street vendor… But there were multiple people selling cell phone chargers and turtles!! I don’t think they do that in Shanghai, so does anyone have an explanation?!

About chinesepeopledoyoustyle

The emergence of style in China
This entry was posted in Beijing, Chinese People, Workers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Freeway Turtles, Beijing

  1. timothy says:

    This is a new trend these past months. The fact they all do it seems to indicate the sell enough of them to make it worth it. I though it was like drive through dinner, until I saw them so many times I felt sorry for the turtle and almost bought one to set it free. So I think people feel sad for the turtle and buy them, then set them free in the nearby lake. Then they get caught from the lake and sold again. Vicious cycle.

Leave a Reply

